BMW’s New Naming System

            Just recently, many of BMW’s new models got name changes. For example, the M235i is getting changed to M240i. The 335i got changed to 340i. Another change that is going to occur now is the renaming of BMW’s four-cylinder model engines. The new 2.0 litre turbo engine will be called B48, which will replace the old N20. The six cylinder engines will be changed from N55 to B58.


These new names will go in effect on all the 2, 3, and 4 series models to begin with. The four cylinder engines will be named in this order consecutively; 230i, 330i, and 430i. The six cylinder engines will be named; M240i, 340i, and 440i. The  5, 6, and 7 series models will be more confusing once they also get engine refreshes. We frankly have no idea why they want to make the naming of their cars so difficult. We hope that BMW shifts their focus in refreshing and improving their cars rather than forcing name changes to their newer lineup.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s